top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHelen King

Divorce and breast cancer before 40


If love and marriage go together like a horse and carriage, divorce and breast cancer go together like bad dream.


I've shared on the podcast that before I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2018 I'd been through a turbulent few years. In 2016 my marriage ended and I started on a path of trying to rebuild and live my dreams. Except the living my dreams part never quite happened and cancer did in 2018.


Life has a sense of humour huh!


Sometimes I forget the challenges I've been through in the past 5-6 years, I've learned a lot about resilience and letting go of what doesn't serve me anymore. I don't believe cancer is a gift - what it is, is an opportunity to listen to your body and evaluate what isn't working in your life anymore.


That part I'm grateful for.

Helen is a white woman, she is standing in a field, the wind blows her hair back and she wears glasses.
Me, happy and healthy after divorce and breast cancer.

Recently I shared my story with podcaster and life coach Hope Cook on her podcast Recharting your Life with Hope. It was great chatting with Hope who has the best southern accent! Hope has been through a transformation of sorts herself. Like so many of us, the pandemic helped us realise it's not worth burning ourselves out in situations that give little back.


You can check out our conversation here.


Get in touch if the episode resonates with you! And share with your friends.


If you enjoyed Hope's podcast be sure to subscribe. Catch up on the C Word Radio episodes here.








37 views0 comments
bottom of page